Commissioner – Dr. Ann Bain

Dr. Ann BainAnn B. Bain, EdD, MSN, RN

Dr. Ann Bain earned an EdD in Higher Education Administration from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and her master’s, baccalaureate, and associate degrees in nursing from the University of Central Arkansas. She has served as Chairperson of the Department of Nursing at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock since 1997 and has been a faculty member at UALR since 1987. During Dr. Bain’s tenure as chairperson, the Department has doubled enrollment in its associate degree program; expanded from two ASN program options to four program options; and added an online BSN completion program. The Department has progressed from having no designated nursing student scholarship opportunities to having over three million dollars in endowed Walker Family Foundation Scholarships.

Dr. Bain has previously served as an Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) Board Member and as a member of the ACEN Evaluation Review Panel. She has over 10 years of experience as an ACEN program evaluator and has served as a consultant in the areas of policy development, curriculum design, accreditation, and program evaluation. She has presented papers and posters at a variety of state, regional and national conferences.