The 2017 ACEN Board of Commissioners election will begin on April 1, 2017. Votes may be cast until May 31, 2017, and newly elected members will take office October 1, 2017.  There are two candidates for each of the following open positions:

  • Nurse Educator Representatives
    • Associate
    • Associate/Practical
    • Baccalaureate and Higher Degree
  • Nurse Representative
  • Public Member Representative
  • Nominating Committee

Click on the name or photo of a candidate to view their bio.


Nurse Educator Representative – Associate

Jorge Corchado

Jorge Corchado, PhD, MSN, RN, CNS
Associate Professor, Nursing
Universidad de Puerto Rico en Arecibo
Arecibo, Puerto Rico




Catherine McJannet

Catherine McJannet, MN, RN, CEN
Director of Nursing and Health Occupations Programs
Southwestern College
San Diego, California




Nurse Educator Representative – Associate/Practical

Claudia EstradaClaudia Estrada, MSN, CNE, RN
Director of Nursing
New Mexico State University at Carlsbad
Carlsbad, New Mexico




Gwendolyn Taylor

Gwendolyn Taylor, EdD, MSN, RN
Dean of Allied Health and Nursing
Augusta Technical College
Augusta, Georgia




Nurse Educator Representative – Baccalaureate and Higher Degree

Linda MilesLinda Miles, EdD, RN
Chair, School of Nursing
Daytona State College
Daytona Beach, Florida




Shellye Vardaman

Shellye Vardaman, PhD, RN-BC, CNE
Associate Professor, RN-BSN/MSN Coordinator, School of Nursing
Troy University
Troy, Alabama




Nurse Representative

Debra Callendar

Debra Callender, MSN, RN, CNOR
Director of Surgical Services
Adventist Health System




Lenetra Jefferson

Lenetra Jefferson, PhD, RN, CNE, LMT
Registered Nurse Educator
JeffCare, Jefferson Parish Human Services Authority
Metairie, Louisiana




Public Member Representative

Steven Eckman

Dr. Steven Eckman
York College
York, Nebraska




Sandra Featherman

Dr. Sandra Featherman
President Emeritus
University of New England
Biddeford, Maine





Nominating Committee

Frances Anne Freitas

Frances Anne Freitas, PhD, MSN, CNE
Assistant Professor, Nursing Program – Ashtabula Campus
Kent State University
Ashtabula, Ohio




Georgia VestGeorgia Smith-Vest, DNP, MSN, RN
Senior Dean of Nursing, Ocala Nursing Program
Rasmussen College – Ocala
New Port Richey, Florida